Category Archives: Deep Street Soul

Deep Street Soul – Deep Street Soul (2009)

Deep Street Soul

Deep Street Soul – Deep Street Soul (2009)

Genre: Funk / Soul
Format: MP3


01. Crate Diggin
02. Kick Out The Jams (Featuring Tia Hunter)
03. Papa Jumps
04. Now Dig This!
05. Homebound
06. Red Raw
07. Greenbacks (Featuring Shirley Davis)
08. Downtime
09. Get Up & Get It
10. Riot
11. Straighten Out

About Deep Street Soul
Deep Street Soul are funk DJ & drummer Agostino ‘Sol Loco’ Soldati, bass player & soul aficionado Papa ‘J’ Hunter, Cropper lovin’ Matt Green and Queen of the Hammond Ms. Monique ‘Mon Cherie’ Boggia. Getting together in early 06’ they formed with the simple aim of recapturing some old skool southern flavors they’d DJ’d over the previous decade. Inspired by the breakout of nufunk throughout Europe & the States (not forgetting Osaka Monaurail and Australia’s own – The Bamboos) they hit the clubs. Starting with an initial batch of Booker T & Meter’s covers, these quickly morphed into their own set of raw break filled funk & soul.

Teaming with local Melbourne soul/funk label Jaycees in early 07’, they released their first 45’ getdownHQ/deepstreet strut. The 45’ quickly sold out and saw rotation on stations & mixes worldwide. As a result, a new 45’ loose caboose/nasty was recorded for Jaycee’s early 08’ (which also sold out) and a special 3 track digital release was cut for Blair Stafford’s Straightup Recordings label.

After hearing these tracks, Freestyle Records (UK) boss Adrian Gibson signed the band to his label. The vinyl re-release of Chilli Fried will drop on the 5th Oct 09 containing tracks from previous releases, the 1st single Kick out the Jams on the 12th Oct 09. The first LP is due for release on 16th Nov 09 – Recorded in late 2008 this album is funk of the down’n’dirty variety.

Link Original